Courtis leads Championship, Ristic takes Reserve Title

In a dramatic final round of the 2016 Championships on Friday 22nd July, joint leaders Michael Sugrue and Geoff Barber were both defeated, by Owen Courtis and Reza Daneshvar respectively. Courtis now leads outright as the only undefeated player, with Sugrue, Barber, and Zoran Babic all half a point behind.
All four remain contenders, however, as they will play each other in two postponed matches this coming Friday, 29th July.
Mio Ristic is the 2016 Reserve Champion after Nick McClaren defeated Jack Smith with a powerful King side attack.
Smith now plays Bill Stokie for outright second place, also this coming Friday.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s