2015 Ten Minute Championship

The Geelong Chess Club 2015 Ten Minute Championship was held on Friday, 3rd July. Players had ten minutes to complete all their moves in each game.

There was a keen field of ten entries, strengthened with the return of long-standing club members Paul Wendrich, Tom Nemaric, and John Lazic (1982 Lightning and 1986 Club Champion). Likewise Geoffrey Gill (joint 2012 Lightning Champion) and Barboros Kara put in strong performances.

The match between Geoffrey Gill and Michael Sugrue was an exciting see-saw struggle, with both players sacrificing pieces for attacking chances, until Geoffrey forced a draw by perpetual check with seconds remaining on the clock. Both players were duly declared joint Champion. Final standings were:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s